Opinion

Poetic Happiness

nycpofest-logo-transparent

By Faith Kelley

To me, designing clothes and writing poetry are the same. You have to have a focus and an inspiration. It takes discipline and manner to create. You have to have a purpose and an excuse to write, almost like cooking. what are you looking for, and what do you want it to sound like or look like? Poetry is like any great book; it has a past, the beginning, middle, end, and future. Poetry is supposed to leave you guessing, more or less thinking. It is something like a song, there are no sequels. Poetry is a statement and a confession, having a mind of its own, able to it speak for itself. Poetry is an expression of painful pleasure. It is the music upon which I dance, it is the rhythm that I move to. Poetry is by far, my favorite type of literacy.

There is Maya Angelou, Edgar Allen Poe, Emily Dickinson, Langston Hughes, Nikki Giovanni, and many more poets that have written their world with pen and paper. When I started reading poetry, I thought it was boring and uninteresting because the poems I all read rhymed and talked about animals and nature. It was not until I heard free verse poetry read aloud that I started to appreciate the art and expression of poetry. When it comes to having a favorite type of poetry, mine would have to be free verse poetry because there are no rules, and as for myself, I’m not very fond of following the rules. You can make a free verse poem sound rhythmic, but it necessarily does not have to rhyme, and that’s what I like most.

The first time poetry caught my attention was on Verses and Flow, a TV One series that lasted 5 seasons. I heard poets like Joyce Lee, Prentice Powell, and Ashley August. Hearing them read their poetry really made me think, “wow, I can do this.” So, I began writing and now that I look back, I didn’t start out perfectly. Overtime, I got better, and developed a certain “flow” to it.

If I could compare my poetry to another poet, it would be Kendrick Lamar without music. I use my poetry as a tool to tell a story or someone’s story without giving away the meaning of the story. I enjoy writing it like that, because it gives the reader a chance to use their imagination to come up with how the story began or how it will end. In addition, it leaves the reader with something to think about in the end.

Poetry is not recognized as much as music is, but all in all, they’re the same. What is poetry to you?

Categories: Opinion, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

