News

The Women’s March In Washington

gty-womens-march-washington-4-jt-170121_12x5_1600 

By Marissa Duffield 

The Women’s March on Washington was one the most memorable experiences of my life. All around our nation’s capital, there were waves of women in pink hats, carrying signs that described their views on the current political climate. There was so much potential for hate and anger, and yet, there was an overwhelming feeling of hope and kindness, without a trace of violence.

 

I went to the march with my dad and sister. The three of us woke up around 5 in the morning so that we could get to the march on time. It took us two hours to get to the metro and we it took least an hour and a half to get metro passes because their were so many people trying to get their own passes. Everyone was packed together in the station like sardines. After we got our passes it was good thirty minutes before our metro left the platform. An hour later we were at the right stop to walk to the march.

 

I wish I didn’t feel the need to fight to keep my right to marry who I love but I’m so grateful that I got to be a part of a protest of such magnitude. I got to hear all kinds of speakers from council women to movie stars, and they all had powerful things to contribute from their experiences.

 

“I march for my twin daughters’ right to marrying who they want and [for] their voting and race rights. I do this because it’s what my mother did for me so I could have rights and so she could have the right to marry my father because they were a mixed race couple in the sixties. So how can I deny anyone else the right to marriage?”  said Catrina Stagnato while waiting to get metro tickets.

 

After hours of speakers, we went down the street to partake in the march. I thought we were in a densely packed area before. But when we went to the main stretch of the march, I saw just how widespread this march was because all I could see were people everywhere I looked. It was so hard to fathom because I had never registered the vast amount of people in the world; it was always just a number to me until the march. To see so many like-minded people in one place was incredibly overwhelming and eye opening. To see all those people helped me realize how vast and diverse humanity really is.

 

I have grown up in a climate where most of the surrounding population’s views were the polar opposite of mine. So it was incredibly refreshing to be around so many likeminded people. I’m so honoured that I was able to be in the presence of such inspirational people. I will continue to go to events similar to the Women’s March until equal rights is a given, not a privilege.

Categories: News, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

