Music Reviews

Awaken My Love

gambino-20171

Awaken my Love’

By: Faith Kelley

Friday, December 2nd 2016 was a big day for Childish Gambino with the release of his latest album, “Awaken, My Love.” This album explored a different side of Gambino; the more soulful and funky side. This being his third album, it has proved to be one of Gambino’s most enjoyable yet.

Besides the music, sales projections are have also been looking good for the album so far. As of December 6, 2016, Awaken, My Love has sold between 85,000 and 95,000 copies. With these sale’s projections, Gambino will likely rank number five on the Billboard 200. Gambino’s previous album, Because of the Internet, sold 525,000 copies all together, with 96,000 of those copies sold on it’s opening week. The big question is whether Gambino will be able to top The Hamilton Mixtape. Also released Friday December 2nd, it sold between 190,000 and 210,000 copies so far, earning a spot at the top of the Billboard 200 chart.

Though this album isn’t the style of Childish Gambino that fans are used to, “Awaken, My Love” has left us with some unforgettable tracks that will change the listener’s mind about this album. AS cover from Eddie Hazel’s I Want You (She’s so Heavy), Me and Your Mama has earned its spot as the number one hit on the album. This song was also released as a single before the debut of the album. “They wanna see us falling apart/You know that I love you, so let me into your heart,” Gambino wails in the lyrics.

“All I see is zombies, walking all around us/You can hear them coming (to take your mind)/You can hear them breathing, breathing down your spine/All I see is zombies, hear the screaming out/They can smell your money, and they want your soul,” Zombies, the second track, warns the listeners. This song expresses an anthem for money hungers. Those who are seeking your money and those who would give it all just to get some.

The third track, Redbone, was the second released single on the album. It sets the tone for the album, using melody from Bootsy Collins’ “I’d Rather Be with You.” This song inspires it’s listeners to go for what your wan, but to be conscious because “people will catch you sleepin’.”

Fourth on the album, Terrified, portrays the fear of falling in love using metaphoric verses like “Please don’t find me rude, but I don’t eat fast food – so don’t run.”

Stand Tall comes in fifth, featuring Gambino’s vocals. This song is the last track on the album and he ended it the way he starts it: promoting love and strength. “These broken souls are all I see/Fists have fallen to our side/We may cry alone, I feel we know where all of this is headed/But my mama/Keep all your dreams, keep standing tall/If you are strong, you cannot fall.”

awaken_my_love

 

Leave a Reply

