Uncategorized

The Myth of Senioritis

by Kayla Coursey

Throughout all of high school, the concept of Senioritis has followed me: the idea that seniors, in their last leg of school, suddenly become lazy and do very little work. But I’ve hardly ever had as much work to complete as I do now, in my last weeks at Monticello.

 

Senioritis cannot afford to exist purely because of the massive to-do list presented to seniors before they leave their schools for good.

 

At the time I began writing this piece, I had exactly 8 days left of the school year. In these 8 days, I have 60 to 80 pages of prose due for my independent study, 15 pages of prose due for AP Literature, a 10 minute video and community outreach plan for AP Government, a poster about an assigned topic for AP Chemistry as well as corrections for my Chemistry final.

 

In this time, I also need to sign, address, and send fifty to one hundred graduation party invitations, write my final article for Journalism (which I am currently writing), compose an A Capella song for both Treble and Vocal Jazz, take the AP Government exam Tuesday morning, and take the AP Statistics exam on Thursday. I have been accepted into my favorite college and will be attending this fall; however, I also have to finish several forms and surveys before I can sign up for classes or apply for rooming within the next month.

 

Not to complain (although I am definitely complaining), but these last 8 days are sincerely destroying me. Projects and assignments are piling on top of each other, only to pile on top of stress and emotional exhaustion as the realization that, in less than two weeks, there is no guarantee that I will ever see some of my closest friends again, whether that is because they are underclassmen, because they won’t be in the same city as me, or because they won’t be in the same state as me.

 

So, while simultaneously stressing over a huge pile of final assignments to take care of, I’m trying to arrange promised times to see my friends, times to go camping and cook on an open fire, or to just hang out and pretend that we will see each other in the fall.

 

8 days.

 

The reality of senioritis is that it cannot exist. The massive workload laid on seniors in their last few weeks keeps anything similar to senioritis from ever forming, not to mention plaguing a class.
It is a myth, but I most sincerely wish that it could be true.

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

